Weekly News Article
Posted By:
Kevin Wilson
Date Posted:
Saturday, 7 December 2013 - 3:39:48 PM
Socceroos grouped with Spain, Netherlands and Chile
The Socceroos have drawn title holders Spain, along with 2010 runners-up Netherlands and Chile for the FIFA 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

Vicente del Bosque's Spanish side beat the Netherlands 1-0 after extra time in Johannesburg three years ago to win football's greatest honour for the first time.

And they were paired with the Netherlands, Chile and Australia in Group B at Friday's Final Draw for the showpiece event.

Socceroos Fixtures (times AEST)

14 June - 8am | Chile v Socceroos | Arena da Baixada - Curitiba
19 June - 2am | Socceroos v Netherlands | Estadio Beira-Rio - Porto Alegre
24 June - 2am | Socceroos v Spain | Arena Pantanal - Cuiaba

Hosts and five-time winners Brazil will open the tournament against Croatia in Sao Paulo on June 12, with Mexico and Cameroon joining them in Group A.

Germany who finished third in South Africa in 2010 will take on Portugal, Ghana and the United States in Group G. USA manager Jurgen Klinsmann formerly coached and played for Germany.

France's reward for a dramatic comeback in their play-off against Ukraine they came from 2-0 down to win 3-2 over two legs is a favourable draw alongside Switzerland, Ecuador and Honduras in Group E.

Argentina, who have won the title twice, face Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iran and Nigeria in Group F while England will take on Uruguay, Italy and Costa Rica in Group D.

Belgium were paired with Algeria, Russia and South Korea in Group H, while Colombia, Greece, Ivory Coast and Japan will do battle in Group C.

Hear Socceroos Head Coach Ange Postecoglou's thoughts on our draw for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil. Click here.

The 2014 World Cup draw:

Group A: Brazil, Croatia, Mexico, Cameroon

Group B: Spain, Netherlands, Chile, Australia

Group C: Colombia, Greece, Ivory Coast, Japan

Group D: Uruguay, Costa Rica, England, Italy

Group E: Switzerland, Ecuador, France, Honduras

Group F: Argentina, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iran, Nigeria

Group G: Germany, Portugal, Ghana, USA

Group H: Belgium, Algeria, Russia, South Korea
Central Coast Football (CCF)
Central Coast Mariners (CCM)
Hyundai A-League (HAL)
Football Federation of Australia (FFA)

Club Sponsors

Woongarrah Wildcats Football Club Inc 2008 - 2017 © - ABN 53 914 101 021